Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
All reviews - Movies (77) - TV Shows (17) - DVDs (8) - Books (9) - Music (53) - Games (4)

Why what a piece of Dung

Posted : 6 years ago on 12 August 2011 06:06 (A review of The Human Centipede)

No plot and no gore at all. Not only is this one of the weirdest messed up films ever...it never resolves! It deserves to have someone tell what the whole film is, it's absolute garbage! You don't even know if the girl makes it out alive ugh this film infuriated me. The director should be banned for making movies ever again. I detest this film with a passion. It serves no merit, nothing positive, nothing cool in the horror sense, nothing to get from the film..nothing

The only reason I finished it was to see the people rescued but NO that would make the film decent. This is a disgrace to humanity and I wish I never watched it. I'd rather watch every: Julia Roberts, Tom Cruise, Sarah Jessica Parker, Nick Cage movie than see anything like this again. DON'T WATCH this, it's pointless and you're sick in the head if you enjoyed this in any stretch of the mind. It's my opinion but it's a solid one haha Ew...


Rating: 0.4/10


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Solid Deathcore but angsty

Posted : 6 years ago on 26 July 2011 09:53 (A review of The Black Crown)

This is Suicide Silence's 3rd full length album and it's their most talked about already. It just recently came out and it's had positive reviews from the plenty I've seen and read. Mitch Lucker, vocalist, has said that their goal for this record is too show exactly the style their pushing for now on and too have that "unique quality that lets you know it's Suicide right away."

Vocally Mitch's vocals let you know that it is Suicide Silence. The ghastly highs are his signature and are prominent on Black Crown. The album features less lows, unlike their previous release No Time To Bleed. I enjoyed having less lows, because they had too much artificial-ness to them, in my book. The lyrics are a vast improvement from the typical anti-religious style (which I detest) and instead he concentrated on more personal aspects from his mind and to make them more relatable, and he is quoted with saying: "I'm not trying to put people's beliefs down - it's about me and my life. This is my head cracked open and poured on the paper! I still have the same beliefs and same views, but I'm more open to everything," he adds. "At this point in my life, I don't see the good in making people hate you for something you say. This record is for everybody.". This is statement is the main reason as to why I decided to give it a listen in the first place.
Now they're more personable, but in my opinion way angsty and whiny. The prime example to show you what I mean, can be found in the song "F@#$ Everything". It's just too vulgar and annoying. But musically tasty :)

The musical direction goes forward into more exciting aspects. This record is more "proggier" than their previous releases and shows their true musicianship. Don't worry deathcore fans, there is PLENTY of breakdowns and groove moments.
The drums are more tighter with sick fills and the guitars are EXTREMELY beast like with a pummeling force. The production on the breakdowns lets you go nuts!

Black Crown is more open to a bigger audience and it's a real solid record. Sure it has some flaws, but not enough to make you NOT listen to it. I dig the album, even with the cursing, but it's a slow step up from their previous anti-God stance. Listen, groove, headbang, get "shooken" up by the earthquake it will induce and enjoy!

Favorite Tracks: Cross-Eyed Catastrophe and O.C.D.

Rating: 7.2/10


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Lift Your Skinny Fists Like Antennas to Heaven review

Posted : 6 years, 1 month ago on 22 July 2011 05:27 (A review of Lift Your Skinny Fists Like Antennas to Heaven)

In the instrumental, "ambiant" sense, this is a pretty good album. However, I found it rather non-impressive. I was dissapointed in the sense that I didn't hear any monstrous, magnificent instrumental pieces. I figured..maybe I just don't get it. That is not the case and I will try to listen to more albums, but more variation and less "boring" aspects are needed. I enjoy my slo-jams but, c'mon amp it up a little.
The violin and various strings are pretty sweet though..just not epic.

Rating: 5.4/10


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Quite Fortunate Actually

Posted : 6 years, 1 month ago on 14 July 2011 02:57 (A review of Lemony Snicket's A Series of Unfortunate Events)

"A soda for you and you and...a banana for you!" Just one of a handful of zany lines throughout this film from Count Olaf played by Jim Carrey. Lemony Snicket's A Series of Unfortunate Events is a wondrous, dark and humorous tale. Based on the novels by Lemony Snicket, this film does an excellent job of keeping your interest without straying too far from the first 3 books. We all know that books are tough to recreate or portray on to film. Director Brad Silberling does a fine job of bringing the book to script, to film, in a remarkable, deep fashion. You could even say that the camera angles and lighting are similar to the great Tim Burton's in some aspects. I thought the film was directed by Tim in fact.

The plot: I don't like explaining movies or the whole plot, or else its pointless to see the film..c'mon people haha! In a nutshell, siblings: Violet, Klaus and little Sunny become orphans after a tragic fire burned their home with their parents tragically in its deadly mist. They are left in the care of their Count Olaf and things get weird after that.



The movie was quite dark, but I never felt like it was too intense for kids or sketchy. The books were targeted to that audience after all. Its length was just right and didn't seem to long nor short...just right! I loved the cast along with Silberling's directing. Jim Carrey is my favorite comedic actor and this role of Count Olaf, is right up his bowlin' alley! He's witty, uber creepy but you love him too, despite his inclining for pure evil! Emily Browning *gasp* is an excellent portrayal of Violet and she's superpingly adorable! The rest of the other actors are smashing and also spotting Craig Ferguson made my night complete !

The book is phenomenal and the film is fantastic. I'd advise reading it and watching the film and I hope more and more people look at this more than just a kids tale and see the wonder that lies withing these ...unfortunate events.

Rating: 9.3/10


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Codes and Keys review

Posted : 6 years, 1 month ago on 14 July 2011 12:47 (A review of Codes and Keys)

I'm actually disappointed in this album, its still good, but it could have been more "peppier" and exciting. Oh well, they're still gypsy !

Rating: 6.6/10)


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Barton Hollow review

Posted : 6 years, 1 month ago on 14 July 2011 12:46 (A review of Barton Hollow)

Lovely vocals and the title track is sooooo catchy, unbelievable and bluesy! Best track on there in my view. The vocals stand out in this acoustic album and are a must listen.
Rating: (8.3/10)


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Conviction review

Posted : 6 years, 1 month ago on 14 July 2011 12:46 (A review of Conviction)

Lyrically its less "metal" than their previous release of Guardians but its grand and filled with hope and brutality! This album goes into the more hardcore aspect of deathcore and I love it! The breakdowns are NASTY!

Rating: (9.0/10)


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Gloom - EP review

Posted : 6 years, 1 month ago on 14 July 2011 12:46 (A review of Gloom - EP)

Only 4 songs :/ but its enough to hold me over until another killer album from these technical death metal dudes. I keep listening to these on repeat and the songs flow well together :)

Rating: (8.8/10)


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Speaker of the Dead review

Posted : 6 years, 1 month ago on 14 July 2011 12:45 (A review of Speaker of the Dead)

Deathcore and weird awesome noises galore!! I dig this album a lot, 15 songs of breakdowns that don't get old for me...dig it!



Rating: (8.6/10)


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Celestial Completion review

Posted : 6 years, 1 month ago on 14 July 2011 12:45 (A review of Celestial Completion)

One of the most melodic and odd albums I've heard in awhile. The use of non-typical metal instruments, makes this album one to listen to. Its not their heaviest, from my perspective but its their most creative and experimental. It takes a couple listens, but it grows fast !
Rating: 8.9/10


0 comments, Reply to this entry



Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block