Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
All reviews - Movies (77) - TV Shows (17) - DVDs (8) - Books (9) - Music (53) - Games (4)

Leveler review

Posted : 6 years, 1 month ago on 14 July 2011 12:44 (A review of Leveler)

No flaws, emotional-Christian uplifting lyrics and pure brutality. I've listened to this 20+ times and it just came out a week ago! Its going to be difficult for another band to try and top this album, for me hahaha. oh..and its a melodic wonder!

Rating 9.8/10...track number 6 isn't one of my favs or else it'd be a 10


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Pummeling To the Depths

Posted : 6 years, 1 month ago on 5 July 2011 04:41 (A review of Deep Blue)

It's the optimal word to use when describing Parkway Drive's 2010 masterpiece: Deep Blue. Constructing elements from Horizons and prior works, Deep Blue carries on with ferocious heaviness and you never want it to stop. Nothing uber-fancy, just solid metalcore with their own flair.

Emotion is a driving force throughout and It's poured out into Winston's treacherous, beastly growls. I'd go as far to say that, lyrically, Deep Blue is conceptual. If you're feeling down, broken and even depressed...these lyrics show that Parkway Drive is with you and at times feels the same way. Not that most care, but I enjoy the fact that there is minimal swearing on this record, and it shows more creativity.Winston McCall is an astounding front man and can dredge up an amazing live performance and with vocals like his...I want to tear up whatever room I'm standing in.

Ben Gordon's drum fills are quite exceptional and the perfect fit for this record. He keeps you on your feet and throws some nasty, unsuspecting beats at you, which I enjoy. Why bother having typical metalcore drum fills? I sure want something different and he delivers.

Melodicness is one of Parkway's finest aspects and is the best way to convey a great sense of emotion throughout the senses. Guitarists Luke and Jeff are phenomenal riff creators! Nothing flashy, just pummeling, brutal and tasty.

I highly advise metalheads to jump on the road with these Aussie metalcore titans and enjoy moshing in the future. This album will not let you down but just make you want to enjoy some breakdowns.

Standout Tracks to me: Sleepwalker, Alone, Home is for the Heartless and Leviathan I.

Rating: 9.6/10




0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Expendables review

Posted : 6 years, 1 month ago on 4 July 2011 03:28 (A review of The Expendables)

I love action films a lot...but you need more than just blowing up crap and chases. Some stable/decent acting is needed. An interesting plot line should be included as well, butI must say this was awfully boring and other than some cool "bad a$$" scenes, this was lame. I know action films don't need top notch acting..but give me something believable! I looked forward to this movie and it let me down. They could have had a better cast of people. Seriously Eric roberts ain cutting it.

Rating 3.7/10


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Blade Runner review

Posted : 6 years, 2 months ago on 9 June 2011 09:23 (A review of Blade Runner)

Other than some somewhat stunning visuals, this film is incredibly boring and lusterless. Some may think I overlooked the point of the movie but after a few watches I see nothing significant or amazing. Sure the direction can be great, but you have to have an interesting story with a storyline. Heck, at least have some closure. I don't even care if a film concludes well, but the rest of the types of films are at least watchable and catch your eye.
--As a sci-fi fan, its almost insulting to consider this to be the best sci-fi film...what a joke! People need to see some more note worthy fantasy scifi before this pile of..whatever you feel like calling it! Its sad that even Harrison ford wasn't enough to redeem the movie :/ Oh well, a big let down.

Rating: 2.4/10


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Send Me To THIS CLINIC !

Posted : 6 years, 2 months ago on 8 June 2011 02:28 (A review of Clinic for Dolls)

---Following their debut album "The End of Life", This up and coming Polish "Goth metal" band (I guess you can call it that :) is becoming a spectacular, unique force from Europe! Vocalist Aya Stefanowicz brings some tasty Polish accented vocal styles for this 2010 release. Its difficult to describe her sound, without playing a song to whomever haha. Her vocals reach some very high notes and are displayed quite smashingly in "Mockers". The guitar solo in that song is exceptional as well! The guitar work is pretty standard for "goth metal" but it suits Aya's vocals and every song perfectly. Not every album needs to have shredfests. The other noteworthy thing about Clinic, is the keyboards thrown here and there throughout the album. Some of the notes used are very melodic and touching. I love it! The whole album is melodic and VERY CATCHY and MEMORABLE, That's probably my favorite aspect of these tracks.
The lyrics aren't feel-goody by any means, but give hope in some songs and talks about overcoming certain odds and being broken. If you want something to listen to when you're not exactly happy...this album has those relatable lyrics. I recommend this album for fans of In This Moment, After Forever and some Evanescence. I enjoy this album a lot and I believe its a gem that is still hidden to many music fans..especially my fellow Americans hahha.

Favorite Song: "Why" and "Mockers"

Rating: 9.3/10



0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Green Hornet review

Posted : 6 years, 2 months ago on 4 June 2011 01:41 (A review of The Green Hornet)

I never thought this was going to be hysterical or have killer action for that matter. Previews made it look like garbage, go see it.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Scurrilous review

Posted : 6 years, 3 months ago on 24 May 2011 10:50 (A review of Scurrilous)

Musically its brilliant and there was only one or 2 songs that I didn't care for. Its another crazy, classic Protest the Hero. I'd buy this album for sure. Its technical, proggy and brutal all in one.

Rating: 8.3/10)


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Gospel filled Destructive Metal

Posted : 6 years, 3 months ago on 24 May 2011 10:47 (A review of Discontentment)

One of the finest showings for a first solid album. They combine various vocal styles with deathcore/metalcore riffs throughout this killer album. Its hard to put a label on what style it is, but its just a solid metal album to be listened to. They'll go from a nasty breakdown to a melodic verse and then a monsterous solo..The Gun Show is awesome and here to stay....better get your tickets :P

Rating: 9.4/10)


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Percy Jackson & the Olympians: The Lightning Thief review

Posted : 6 years, 3 months ago on 23 May 2011 02:56 (A review of Percy Jackson & the Olympians: The Lightning Thief)

Just an okay movie. Some of the movie was hysterical but it wasn't on purpose. Brandon T. who played Grover couldn't act at all and Rosario Dawson was the kill joy of the movie. Pierce Brosnan was also made to be lame and cheesy. One thing that saved this film from utter doom was Annabeth Chase played by Alexandra Daddario. She's beautiful and is increasingly becoming a better actress. I don't understand the cult following for this but I was let down..oh well

Rating: 5.6/10


0 comments, Reply to this entry

HP Amazes Once Again.

Posted : 6 years, 3 months ago on 19 May 2011 01:10 (A review of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 1)

*Flash!* The great Bill Nighy as Minister Rufus Scrimgeour enters the scene. His vocals set the tone of the dark times that lie within Hogwarts. Man I knew right off the bat that this wasn't going to be like the previous films.

The director and cast are top notch again. David Yates brings in an impressive presence to these films that you do not get in the first 4 years of Harry Potter. The darkness factor is portrayed through the overall dialogue, characters, camera angles, score and nature of it all. I love it! The acting has picked up significantly since The Half-Blood Prince. Daniel Radcliffe (Harry Potter) hasn't really been a joke of an actor, but we take him more seriously than ever. Alan Rickman (Prof. Snape), is once again phenomenal and as eerie as ever. Ralph Fiennes As Voldemort is just dead on great and I can't get over it! Another notable is Genny Weasley played by the lovely Bonnie Wright. She's improving as an actress and becoming less awkward haha.

In this installment, tensions are greatly intensified at Hogwarts. Many of its teachers and wizards/witches in the surrounding area, are beginning to disappear. Along with this, faith in Dumbledore is decreasing among the community and Voldemort's powers are growing stronger due to fear among the masses. Harry becomes the number one person to protect (and for the opposing side) "rid" of. Throughout the movie Harry goes on to find certain objects that deal with the main storyline, which I don't want to give away or explain (go watch the movie LOL!)

Now there are things left out from the book, however once again its a friggin movie and you can't portray or include everything from the novels. I don't know why people can't grasp this concept but its rather irritating. One of my favorite things about the film is the spectacular score by Alexandre Desplat. The sound is PERFECT for the film. Especially the track when Snape arrives to Malfoy Manor...oh man its bone chilling, at least to me haha. I found it odd that fans and viewers complained about the lack of action and that it was too "romantic and boring"....what?! I guess if you had an attention span the size of a rodent than its too boring but there's a good amount of action throughout the film. I didn't see how the film was really romantic, but that just humors me.

I loved the whole film and didn't find any of it confuzing or boring by any stretch of my imagination. The acting, story, direction and score are all superb and makes Deathly Hallows Part One a contender for the best film of 2010. I reccommend this film for any sci-fi, fantasy fan. Of course you should watch all of the previous films :p

Rating: 9.7/10




0 comments, Reply to this entry



Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block