Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
All reviews - Movies (77) - TV Shows (17) - DVDs (8) - Books (9) - Music (53) - Games (4)

Billy Madison review

Posted : 6 years, 11 months ago on 31 December 2010 02:02 (A review of Billy Madison)

"If peeing your pants is cool, than consider me Miles Davis." hahhhaa My favorite line. Even tho Adam Sandler is lame, in this he's got some hilarious lines. I enjoyed it, even tho it's quite corny.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Eclectic Death Metal Up the Wazoo

Posted : 6 years, 11 months ago on 23 December 2010 12:27 (A review of Dichotomy)

This album is unbelievably thought through. I'm shocked at the non-popularity of this titanic death metal record. It's almost the best 43 minutes of music you'll ever get to listen to. It's their 3rd album and BTA gets even MORE mature. Most bands' first album is not as mature as their follow up records..Becoming the Archetype has been mature since their first record Terminate Damnation. That's my favorite record by them, however this album is almost as technical and gypsy.

The guitar work is..WOW! The solos are righteous and unrecognized by guitar gurus and magazines, it saddens me. Sweeping, alternate crazy picking, you name it..Jon Star and Seth Hecox can display their vulgar power to the masses.

Jason "Wisdom"'s vocals may not change up much, however the focal point of the band is not the vocals..but the MUSIC. He gives us some great grunts and oh boy does it get me going, (Ransom Unseen): has some gypsy vocals! The lyrics he growls at us are about humanity in the future, referring to foolish people as mindless machines and following whomever and other lyrics theme around ferocity and being filled with..well..The Holy Spirit it seems like.

A new more prominent aspect to the album, imo, are the keyboards and chorus style vocals. (Dichotomy)shows exactly what I mean. As we know by now, BTA likes to have an Instrumental..I reeally enjoy them, the one on this album isn't as long as the other 2 tho :/ and not as awesome. Either way, this album is ferocious and literally epic and mind blowing! Oh..the cover of How Great Thou Art is the best version of any hymn and perhaps best cover..I've ever listened to..they made it their own and made it killer beyond belief

Favorite/Stand-out Tracks= **

1.**Mountain of Souls" (featuring Devin Townsend of Strapping Young Lad) - 5:16
2.**Dichotomy" (featuring Ryan Clark of Demon Hunter) - 4:25
3. Artificial Immortality" - 3:58
4. Self-Existent" - 4:18
5. St. Anne's Lullaby" (Instrumental) - 1:53
6.**Ransom" - 4:04
7. Evil Unseen" - 4:04
8.**How Great Thou Art" - 4:29
9.**Deep Heaven" (featuring Suzanne Richter) - 4:38
10. End of the Age" - 6:30

RATING: 9.7/10


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Saturday Night Live - The Best of Will Ferrell review

Posted : 6 years, 12 months ago on 18 December 2010 05:02 (A review of Saturday Night Live - The Best of Will Ferrell)

Of the "Best of SNLs", this is one of the top ones. The fact that there are non typical skits that are hilarious, made it even better. I find it lame when they have the expected typical skits. I like to be surprised. Overall this is really funny and I wish it was longer :(


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Blades of Glory review

Posted : 6 years, 12 months ago on 18 December 2010 04:59 (A review of Blades of Glory )

For widescreen, it's not bad. I can't stand wide screen but I never really notice it in this movie. The picture quality is pretty decent. The extras are entertaining. I didn't think there were going to be ANY features besides a trailer and an outtake real..there's more than you would think. I'm glad I own this movie and I'll enjoy it for a long time hahaha


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Transition Sucessful

Posted : 6 years, 12 months ago on 17 December 2010 12:02 (A review of Ruination)

Releasing DOOM in 2005, many were stunned by the success of the highly praised EP on the internet. Youtube gave them millions of views and increased their fan-base immensely. The pig squealing deathcore group, however changed up their style drastically to "death metal", with a modern twist. Some fans didn't dig 2007's Genesis, sure the "core" fans dug it, but they lost fans..not to worry because this brought in death metal fans to replace the ones they didn't please..That's how drastic their styles changed...Now onto their 3rd release: Ruination.

Ruination is a MAJOR step up from Genesis. It's technicality is precise and up their with the likes of Suffocation, Psycroptic and even Nile! I consider Ruination their sophomore album, due to their change to "technical death metal". It's a destructive album with ferocity beyond belief.

Davi's vocals are as high as Dani Filth sometimes and as low as "Corpsegrinder" Fischer(Cannibal Corpse)! You can't keep up with the speed and different vocal styles/tempos, he throws at you! Without looking at the lyrics, you wouldn't think that he repeats lyrics a lot..he changes up the way he vocalizes ahhh it's killer! Mainly the words from Davi's mouth are pretty political and about death/society as well. I can't stand political lyrics, however his perspective is unlike most un-informed "punk" lyricists. He throws an independent mind set, rather than most liberal garbage I hear. He can't stand oil companies and the overly rich get away with billions..and he makes it well known. March To Global Enslavement, shows his best vocal range and crazy good overdubbing and screams/growls in general

Al Glassman and Bobby Thompson's guitar riffs are extremely quick and tight. They've proven themselves as top notch up and coming guitarists. I have so much trouble learning these songs, that I give up all the time hahaha they're so good! Regurgitated Disinformation has some riffs that make me want to throw my guitar out the window..due to it's speed and intriguing guitar mastery.

I'm not a drummer and I think it's the most difficult instrument to learn. John "The Charn" Rice on Unfurling a Darkened Gospel will melt your face into a pile of drumming ear goo. His timing on live stuff is very close to the studio production. He's a very underrated drummer.

Ruination is one of the best albums In my arsenal hahaha I whip that out all the time (twss). The guy that recorded this art Jason Suecof needs to be more recognized...His work is flawless and it shows. Where a tremendous explosion of sound is needed, he knows EXACTLY what to do with it and where it needs to go..for it's full potential. Oh..keep in mind, a sophomore album makes or breaks a band. There's no breakage here by any means.

Favorite/Key Tracks:
Unfurling A Darkened Gospel
March To Global Enslavement
Lords of Chaos
Ruination

Rating: 9.7/10



0 comments, Reply to this entry

Ace Frehley review

Posted : 7 years ago on 10 December 2010 08:51 (A review of Ace Frehley)

I found it very interesting that these rock greats, would ever think of putting out their own solo albums XD. Most of them are hilarious, however Ace's album is the better of the 4. His guitar work is intricate and his rhythm and lyrics are catchy! Give it a listen!

Rating: 7.2/10


0 comments, Reply to this entry

K.O.Q Is quite awesome.

Posted : 7 years ago on 9 December 2010 02:48 (A review of The King of Queens)

I hate saying lovable characters..but this show really does have excellent characters. It's on every day, My family owns the complete series and I STILL watch it on t.v...it's that great. My favorite role is played by Jerry Stiller who is Arthur Spooner. He loves to yell and get into trouble and hilarity is always at hand. Carrie is sassy but reeeally pretty, heck even when she put on a lot of weight during thArthur, Doug and Deacon, go out on a 'prowl' and it cracks me up even when I'm alone! It may seem over-hyped..but not by much. Carrying on for 9 years, for a SITCOM is quite a feat and I consider them a 'titan' of the type of series. Keeping the show on, any longer would have been detrimental and in poor taste.. I believe.

Overall this show has little flaws, some predictable lines once in a blue moon..but that's it..Watch this gypsyness!

Rating: 9.3/10


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Tekken review

Posted : 7 years ago on 7 December 2010 10:27 (A review of Tekken)

I want to smack whoever came up with this idea


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Consult The BONES!!

Posted : 7 years ago on 7 December 2010 05:49 (A review of Willow)

Being overshadowed by Lucas' most well known masterpieces (Star Wars Saga), Willow isn't as popular. This doesn't matter, due to the cult following this epic-fantasy entails. I can see why it has a following and I'm a part of it hahaha. Fantasies are very enjoyable and they're either a 'hit' or a 'miss'. There is no miss my any means in this film.

The story involves dwarves, witches, sorcery and strange, bizarre creatures. The make up is well done and goes unrecognized. Willow, a dwarf, is a common farmer/gardener like most of the village. He strives to be a great sorcerer/wizard among he village. Little does he know, that in between his everyday life, he's appointed a peculiar task. I won't say what it is, but this carries on the plot and he ventures off to meet some intriguing lovable characters and some ya can't stand. The other main character is Madmartigan. He's played by Val Kilmer and it's a laugh riot. Kilmer kills and no-one else could do the role as well as him. The other actors..

are great choices for their characters as well.

The tale is filled with humor, wonder and a great plot. Sure the CGI is cheesy and not brilliant by any means, but that's what makes it likable. To make up for it, the puppets and costumes are quiet wicked! Seemingly appropriate for kids, this film is very dark and I don't recommend it for younger viewers. For anyone else, it's very enjoyable and has hilarious memorable lines. My favorite is "Outta the way Peck!"..you'll see why.

Rating: 9.1/10


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Hunters' Serious and Funny Side

Posted : 7 years ago on 3 December 2010 07:09 (A review of 45 Days (CD/DVD))

Ahh when I found out Demon Hunter was launching a DVD Documentary, ecstatic glee consumed me. A few days later (after hearing about the release), they announced that it would be 3 discs! 2 DVDs and one CD. Knowing that the Hunters never disappoint this loyal fan, the thought of this being mediocre or decent, were out of the thought spectrum.

As I opened the "digipack" style casing, on the left hand side, lies the first disc, which is the actual "45 Days" documentary. In the middle, was the 2nd dvd of the "Live In Nashville" concert and Demon Hunter pictures and them being goofy in general. The 3rd and final disc is the music/recordings used in the 45 Doc., along with a couple acoustic versions of some of their classic tunes.

The documentary was wonderfully executed by Cale Glendening, whom approached DH with the project and they loved his vision and went with it. If I remember correctly, the actual "movie" is around 2 hours long. It involves stories from their biggest fans, they're quite amazing and even sad. For example there's a story about a soldier that turned his life around. That takes up most of the documentary. The other parts involve "The Stronger Than Hell Tour" which is their 08' tour, with them on the road and talking about their fans, their latest album and about how grateful they are for having Jesus in their life. This ties into the stories of some of the hardcore fans, whom are Christians.

The live concert in Nashville, is pretty great! Although Ethan (now ex-guitarist), had to leave by the time of the shooting, due to obligations for drumming with Reliant K. Patrick Judge stepped up and did an excellent job as a replacement. The only dislike I have is that Ryan Clark's singing, not screaming, is pretty bad. I don't enjoy it and it needs improvement, he's been vocalizing for some time tho..I guess it's understandable. There's also clips here and there of Demon Hunter ACTUALLY being goofy, this is a rarity as their dvd's, with their cds, are usually serious..with little humor.

The 3rd and final disc of the music from the documentary, is abstract. If you didn't read the cd insert(which has over 30 different pictures I believe :p), then you might be lead to believe that they're changing their musical style hahaa. It's all instrumental with exception to the last couple tracks. It's perfect background music and I'm a fan. Some of the riffs and weird sounds are catchy and just cool!

Overall the "core" Hunter fan, needs to have this to their arsenal. It's worth every penny in my opinion. I'm looking foreword to their up and coming releases ("The World is A Thorn" came out in 2010!) and beyond!!

Rating: 9.7/10




0 comments, Reply to this entry



Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block